Grammy Observations 2012

So I FINALLY managed to watch the 54th Annual Grammy Awards celebrating achievements in the music industry. For fun, and to justify the time I spent watching this 3 hour extravaganza, I have made some observations on the show. Feel free to comment, disagree or share any of your own thoughts on this years Grammys.

I can’t believe how OLD the Beach Boys are, I half expected them to start singing a remake of California Girls….”I wish we all could be in our fifties…” Perhaps they thought it was the 2012 “GraNNy Awards”…although considering they shared the stage with Sir Paul McArtney, Tony Bennett, Glen Campbell and Bruce Springsteen, I can see why they were confused.

Nikki Minaj…blech….’nuff said.

What exactly is the difference between “Record of the Year” and “Album of the Year”??

Adele made me laugh when she was crying and laughing and “got a little bit o’ snot come out” ha ha ha…so genuine and real!

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed the Bruno Mars performance. Very clean and artsy, loved the big band aspect and real old school soul dancing, without over-sexed gyrating. Extra points for the pompadour hairstyle, even Ryan Seacrest sported a similar hairdo…thumbs up Bruno!

The camera continually panned to Marc Anthony and his companion…yeah we get it, he moved on…Jennifer Lopez was absent otherwise he probably wouldn’t have gotten any face time at all.

Speaking of missing stars, it was nice to have a Grammy Awards without Kanye West, no wonder Taylor Swift was so relaxed on stage. Actually I didn’t see very many of the usual gangsta godfathers like Jay-Z, 50 cent, Puff Daddy or Kanye…maybe THAT’s why I enjoyed it so much this year. hmmmm….

Beautiful gowns…Carrie Underwood, Taylor Swift, Hillary Scott (Lady Antebellum) and Katy Perry.

It was great to hear the opening monolgue by LL Cool J that included a prayer to “Heavenly Father…”, they may not all believe in Jesus Christ and they may not all really have been praying to God, but it was sweet to hear His name lifted high in public in front of millions of viewers around the world!

Loved the Kelly Clarkson and Jason Aldean duet…too bad his microphone gave out near the end of the performance and instead of singing along anyways with grace, he felt the need to make a big deal about his mic being off…ok we get it, no one can hear you….doesn’t matter ’cause we were only listening to Kelly anyways. Nice hat though…

DeadMau5…Dead Mouse? What is the deal? And I wonder if Walt Disney will be soon bringing a lawsuit against them for the black mouse ear hats they give out to audience members…

Was so excited to see the Civil Wars “open” for Paul McArtney…ha ha so cute….love this couple too, such a lovely simple sound that really evokes a lot of emotion. And in case you didn’t hear her the multiple times she told us, they are friends with Taylor Swift…got it?

Too many men with open shirts for my taste like Charles Kelley (Lady Antebellum) and Chris Brown.

Did not enjoy Sir Paul McArtney and Bruce Springsteen attempting to remain young by having a 10 minute electric guitar jam session….holding the audience captive with their annoying self indulgent ripping…sort of like watching a child’s comedy routine…it’s cute for the first minute of too, then you are just smiling to patronize them.

Pretty Sure that Chris Brown was just singing along with the canned music…doesn’t matter, it was a boring song and I only listened to half before hitting fast forward on the pvr. I mean, I am still bothered that he performed twice on this years show and won a Grammy. I believe in second chances, but I think this guy has been ushered into music industry royalty despite his abominable behaviour towards Rhianna right before the Grammy’s 3 years ago…what kind of example is this for the youth today?

Taylor Swift’s performance was refreshingly wholesome compared to Rhianna, Katy Perry and Nikki Minaj….but I found the depression era set/costumes and banjo’s a little boring and old for a young lady like that. I also found her giant microphone distracting because I couldn’t see her mouth while she was singing. I’d give it a 5 out of 10…too bad, because I was really looking forward to Miss Swift…

Katy Perry’s blue crimped hair was so fun!

Love Adele, and I am SO happy that she won so many Grammy Awards…she is talented and lovely and she doesn’t need to be outrageous and vulgar or perform half naked to be recognized for her artistic achievement. They really should have left a chair up on stage for her…well done Adele.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Linsey on February 21, 2012 at 3:05 pm

    I didn’t watch but I’m sure your retelling was more entertaining than watching it anyway. I will probably watch the oscars though…movies are more my thing and I do love watching the res carpets!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

