Moved to Tears Again…

I was sitting on the edge of our bed chatting with my channel surfing husband, when he left the room to have a shower. I didn’t think anything of him leaving the television on, until I realized it was on a Christian Music Video channel and the song that was on the screen was one that makes me sob uncontrollably EVERY time I watch the video. So while I desperately searched for kleenex, I watched Steven Curtis Chapman dancing across the stage with his little girl, lamenting the fact that he knows she’ll soon be gone and he needs to take time to spend with her now while she is asking.

It’s very sad on so many levels, not the least of which is the fact that not too long ago, his own little girl was tragically killed and I can only imagine how the depths of his grief have forever changed his view of these lyrics he once wrote. Not nearly as heart breaking as losing a child to death, is the fact that the song saddens me due to the fact that my children get older and pull farther and farther away from me in imperceptible ways every day. It grieves me to think that my little ones won’t always want to snuggle and spin to the music with their Mommy, and so these kind of songs directly affect my tear ducts. This moment, courtesy of Mr.Chapman, started me thinking about all the other songs throughout which I have had difficulty maintaining my composer.

So in a sort of follow-up to the previous post Moved To Tears, that referenced various movies that were hard for me to watch with any dignity, here is my list of songs that move me every time I hear them.

1. Steven Curtis Chapman – Cinderella

Of course this song is the impetus to this entire blog post…if you have children, go ahead, I dare you to watch it and keep it together!

…………………………………………………………………………………….

2. Jeff Buckley – Hallelujah The lyrics are messed up and somewhat nonsensical but the sound is haunting and to be honest, listening to it always reminds me of when Shrek and Donkey were fighting. *sniff

…………………………………………………………………………………….

3. Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars

This one isn’t so much sad in the lyrics, it probably makes me cry because like most people, the first time I heard this song was on the show Grey’s Anatomy. I don’t watch this show anymore (too much bed-hopping for my taste) but early on Izzy fell in love with Denny and then he died. In possibly the most heartbreaking grief sequence I have ever seen on t.v, this song was playing.

……………………………………………………………………………………..

4. Mark Dinning – Teen Angel

“They said they found my highschool ring, clutched in your fingers tight….” so moving and heartbreaking!

………………………………………………………………………………………

5. Micheal Buble – Home

Of course, we can’t forget the inspiration for a previous post called Home.

………………………………………………………………………………………

6. Sarah Mclachlan – Angel

Although the lysics in this song are sad and speak of lifes difficulties, my tears are probably more to do with the movie City of Angels with Nicolas Cage and Meg Ryan, and the sweet haunting voice of Ms.Mclachlan.

………………………………………………………………………………………

7. Eric Clapton – Tears in Heaven

I am not even going to try to explain why this one makes me cry, I’m guessing that you cry too when you hear it!

……………………………………………………………………………………….

8. Green Day – Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)

I have never been a fan of Green Day and I probably couldn’t tell you what this song is about, but I remember an episode of ER years ago, had a young woman singing this song at the funeral of a teenaged boy and it was melancholic and sad…maybe that’s why I cry…who knows…?

……………………………………………………………………………………….

9. I’ll be Missing You – Puff Daddy

Again it’s someone else singing of their loss and grief and I remember this song was released back when I was going through something difficult in my personal life.

……………………………………………………………………………………..

10. That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard it Should Be – Carly Simon

This one is a bit strange, my mother used to blast this song on the hi-fi stereo when I was a kid. Not sure if my emotions are tied to sad childhood memories from that time or the singers evident hopelessness throughout the song…

2 responses to this post.

  1. As the mother of a son killed by a drunk driver, all of those songs hold a particularly bittersweet meaning. I can hear the longing in each of them – longing for the children they cannot hold, longing for a hope to see their children again some day.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Charlene Patterson on March 17, 2012 at 12:30 am

    Well i took your challenge to listen to the songs you posted. Could I make it through any of them without crying like a baby? I must warn you, I cry at many commercials and I’m on a “PMS roller coaster” the past couple days, however I’m a gal up for your dare! The first song “Cinderella” by Steven Curtis Chapman had me crying within moments. I know he wrote that prior to losing his daughter when she was just 5 years old. It must be beyond difficult to hear or perform that song since. Apparently he and his wife had 6 children and his sweet daughter was one of three they adopted from China. I cannot imagine the grief. The song by Eric Clapton, “Tears in Heaven” has always been a song that made me sob uncontrollable. He wrote that song after his 4 year old son fell off a 53 story balcony to his death. I heard it said that parents who have lost a child are in a club that nobody wants to be a member of. Truer words could not describe that situation. All of the songs you’ve listed are beautiful and each of us have times in our lives where music has either helped us through a rough patch in ours lives, or have songs that remind us of wonderful times. I for one know that I appreciate my daughters and grandson dearly and the fact that life can change so quickly will make me a little more thankful to God for those 3 perfect blessings!!! Thanks again for another great blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

